pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Christmas Drinks & Great Company

My day in a poem on the train home

I drove in to Cromer but found myself late
The train had just left, I'd an hour to wait
Once on my way, settled, I gazed at the views
Beautiful Countryside, today's good news
Villages nestled in valleys of green
Hedgerows mapping a vintage scene
The greens changed to greys; a city stood proud
Receiving the engine, it's contents crowd out
The office abuzz with the full festive season
Jumpers with baubles, Christmas the reason
Awash with tasty morsels, and savoury treats
I added my mince pies, a touch of the sweet
Soon work day had ended; with lipstick applied
A list of pubs beckoned, with beers to be tried
Or fancy prosecco with fruit on the side
It all slid down smoothly, we chatted with ease
The Tap House, the Dog House
We're easy to please
Then all too soon some of us went on our way, by bus, by car
By train back today
Where at Cromer Station I hope I will find
My most loyal husband....he's ever so kind....

So after 4 vodka & lemonades I've made use of my train ride home! Perhaps I write better poetry when I take my time & just drink tea... but this was a fun way to sum up my day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.