Midwinter by the Sea in Härnösand

Looking southward down the South Sound, at midday on Midwinter’s Day. The sun is as high as it’s going to get today. It’s 4 hours 53 minutes between sunrise and sunset, and the longest night of the year has gone by.
There is ice on the sea, reflecting back the sun, but it isn’t the sort of ice you could walk on! The day is so warm I can take off my jacket and sit in the sun, feeling the warmth of that sun (extra photo).  It feels more like spring, than Midwinter! There is no snow at all and unless a miracle happens I am going to experience my first green Christmas in 35 years of living in Sweden.
The day was a good day for photography and I chose a set of 9 images, starting with sunrise to create a flickr group,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.