Santa's Helper

Hello Blipfriends! 
Dolly reporting!  Happy Christmas Eve!  

How do you like my new sweater??  Yesterday our neighbour kids gave this to me for Christmas!  My mum groaned a little inside when she saw it because she knows I normally HATE to wear any item of clothing, even my coats for my walkies.  But I surprised her - when she put it on me I was calm and just let her do it!  And I was quite happy to wear it for the rest of the evening!  So this morning as we were having a mostly quiet day at home she put it on me again and I was very happy to wear it!  So who said a dog can't change her mind?  I LOVE it - its very warm and cuddly - it's a little big for me and I like it more that way as it doesn't restrict me!

So….I am WAITING!  For Christmas to arrive tomorrow!  But mum is already in a relaxed Christmas mood so I am happy with that!  She says that with a sweater like this, Father Christmas might swoop me up when he arrives to help him deliver the rest of his gifts!  I'm always up for an adventure, so I'm fine with that - I've been sleeping lots today in case he needs me to work all night!  

BUT!!!  Mum did something really weird this morning!  She took DOWN the Christmas tree!  Whaaaat????   Well, the reason was that the lights - which are PART of the tree, failed once again!  Mum wrote about this just a few days ago (Dec 17th blip).  THIS time she couldn't get them to work.  It actually happened in the evening two days ago.  No more spare bulbs and it actually looks as if the whole top section has burnt out.  She thought about putting another string of lights on it, but it would really mean that she'd have to take all the decorations off first (there are a LOT on the tree) and then put them back on again after the lights.  So, after a lot of thought she decided to take it down completely and pack away the decorations for this year.  She has already ordered another 'pre-lit' tree for next year, even taller than this one!  The old one lasted about 8 years, longer than she expected it to, so she's not unhappy about getting a new one.  

And what did she do with the one not working?  Well, it's a perfectly good tree and useful to anyone who doesn't mind fighting with a dreaded string of lights.  So, after taking everything off it, she took a picture and posted it on Freegle (similar to Freecycle), asking if anyone still needed a last-minute tree, and within 30 minutes someone responded that they wanted it!  So mum said she made someone happy AND she has one less thing to do when it's time to put everything away after Christmas!  We still have a little tree that sits next to the TV and so we can still enjoy that (see Extra photos).  There's also an extra photo of me and Mum from last night when we were visiting the neighbours.  As well as presents they fed us a delicious dinner.  Aren't we blessed??  

Merry Christmas everyone!  


(Mum said we're all caught up with our blips now, so if you missed the last few, make sure you scroll back!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.