Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

What to document?

I was in Hexham this morning, taking Mum to the hairdresser's and doing a bit of shopping.

I've been thinking a lot about how to extend my documentary photography skills. Do I need to travel to special events or demonstrations? We don't have many in Hexham. Are there things worth recording locally.

Of course the answer to the latter question is yes, but sometimes everything seems rather humdrum. (How many people can I photograph in the street as they go about their daily business?)

In our main shopping street, I heard a trio playing rather good jazzy versions of popular songs. Then I heard the didgeridoo. I've seen this man before. He was totally absorbed in the task, but he did stop to give me a smile after I'd finished using my camera.

I deliberately used a slow shutter speed and waited a while in order to emphasise the slow, deliberateness of his music, in contrast to the rush of the shoppers.

In Boots I met the other Marjorie so we went for a coffee and chat. She's coming here this afternoon, so there will be more opportunity to chat soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.