Strong one legged Bushtit

I have seen the little bird hanging on the bottom of the feeder before; he has ONE very strong leg, he always hangs on the bottom. I don't know how he lost his other leg, but he seems to be capable of taking care of himself. But I picked this photo because I liked the little bird waiting for his turn on the nearby branch. The Bushtits come in very big groups and swarm on my 4 suet feeders. They are so fun to watch, but the highlight of this morning was a visit from Flickers....yes, more than one....there were FOUR Flickers at my feeders all at the same time. It looked like two were juveniles.  I was concentrating on getting 3 or 4 in one shot......and consequently didn't even get one in a good shot. I may put one of the poor shots in extra.

It was a good start to the New Year at my house; quiet and calm. Continuing with my organization plan into the new year, my goal has 4 months for completion.

Thanks for visiting and for your encouragement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.