pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Clearing, cleaning & putting away day

I've got that 'back to school tomorrow' feeling as I type. I have had, however, a satisfying day.

Jon set off with a car full of stuff plus Mollie and Daniel at 9.30, to drop off Mollie in Cambridge first then on to Coventry with Dan. It is such a long journey now, that it basically takes all day.

I was up to hug them goodbye, then started on the decorations. Henry surfaced at about 10 to help me, and we managed to get everything down & away in the loft by late lunchtime. Then it was major hoovering, dusting and moving of furniture. I was really in the housewife zone. It doesn't happen often, so I didn't dare stop. I moved lamps, ornaments, went mad with the pledge & think it will do now for another year. I got so carried away I even cleaned the fridge!

Henry got a soldering iron for Christmas. Before anyone questions it, he did ask for one! With a clear table and house to himself it seemed like a good opportunity to 'play' with it. He took things apart & put them back in a different order. He did produce a build with a light switch that worked, among other things! He is sure to have a practical future, or be some kind of inventor!

Jon got home just after 6 just as I was serving up dinner. I listened to The Archers and then had a nice bath, where I dozed listening to June Whitfield at 90. Amazing lady.

I've been reading comments from fellow blippers on the future of Blipfoto or Blipfuture as the new site appears to be named. We are being asked to pledge money to save/buy the site, and the deadline is just a week away. In my old life I'd have been in a position to do that, no problem, but now I just can't afford to. It will be a shame if blip goes, but worse for those who have been blipping for many years. The internet is a great thing, but it isn't everything. For 49 years I didn't tell everyone what I did every day & for 1 year I have done. I'd hate to lose it, but worse things happen.

Keeping my fingers crossed for Blipfuture.

My bedtime needs to be early if there is any hope of me rising at 6 tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.