pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

All roads lead....where?

How quickly we slip into a routine of lying in until far too late. I really struggled to get up when that 6am alarm went off.

Out at 7.10 I was on track to get to work by 8 and clock up some flexi. Unfortunately, what sounded by radio reports like a serious accident on the A140, meant everyone was diverted. The problem was it had only just happened, it was still dark, and it wasn't a proper diversion. I followed the rest of the traffic and hoped to see a sign to somewhere I knew! For a long while I didn't. I drove and drove, desperately feeling like I needed to turn left, but there were no roads going left! Eventually I decided to take a chance and as it began to get lighter, I passed a lonely church, situated in the middle of a field. I aim to return for a photo! I eventually found a sign to Norwich and it was easy from there on.

At work only 20 minutes later than planned, the day brought more surprises - a huge pile of birthday cards from my fellow work colleagues. This had a strange effect on me. Not that I hadn't felt part of a great team already, but this act of kindness from people who have only known me a relatively short time, seemed to seal this acceptance.

I felt rested and happy at work today; the Christmas break has done me good.

Driving home I took a different route! As if I hadn't done enough of that already today, but my normal road is closed temporarily for 2 weeks. I found my way through Aldborough where my Drs is located, then on to Gresham.

You do see signs on these small winding Norfolk roads, but they don't always show the place you want to go. This one was on my way home - purely taken because I hadn't taken another photo today. I quite like it.

Henry is back to school tomorrow. At least I won't be getting up on my own. Hopefully I'll be able to make up some time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.