pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

The Black Boys

Woke feeling marginally less tired than yesterday. I'd tried to have an early night, and succeeded to a certain extent, switching my light off at 10.30. Will try that again tonight.

Work day was quiet, and the atmosphere is still buoyant, positive, new year-ish. I popped out at lunch time to search shops for something different as a gift for a good friend. I was unsuccessful but will look again tomorrow.

Leaving early as I had an appointment at the Dr and didn't want to miss the bus, I couldn't believe it when arriving at Aylsham, the road to Cromer, MY road, was closed due to an accident! 2 days running, that's not good. I mean not good for the people in the accident. It's a very dark road and people are always in such a hurry. I made a mental reminder to slow down. In the end, another drive through the small market town of Aylsham and on to Ingham wasn't out of the way for me, and I arrived in time. Of course they were running '28 minutes late' according to their display. I got in to see the Dr 40 minutes late. While waiting I read a whole copy of Country Living Magazine - and wanted every room, every house, every item advertised. Then I dozed a bit before seeing a very young Dr (do they all seem young once your 50?) who was very nice and is sorting out various tests for me (blood, not maths, if you're wondering)

Home by 6.30 and dinner was served. It's going to be a shock tomorrow when I have to cook for Henry & I! I haven't really cooked since 28th December!

Watching a programme about baking like Victorians did it - & planning in my head a bag I want to make.

This photo is possibly our local pub, although there is The Roman Camp in Aylmerton. This is The Black Boys in Aldborough. The village has more facilities than Gresham; a shop, pub & Drs! Plus a beautiful old fashioned village green. I will go back in the daylight to explore on foot once the weather improves. Roll on summer....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.