A Fond Farewell

Today was the last day of the "Unhinged: Book Art on the Cutting Edge" exhibit at the Whatcom Museum, which you saw earlier in this blip. I fell in love with this one, Time, by American artist Shireen Holman, when I first saw it, and wanted to be sure to include it in my journal.

I'm not sure if these standing stones are Stonehenge, but I am sure that I value the time I spent at Stonehenge in spring 1967, when you could walk right up to the stones and touch them, embrace them. This artwork brought those moments back to me.

The extra photo shows another of my favorites from the exhibition, Mantis Resting in Utopian City by Andrea Deszo, who was born in Romania but now lives in New York City. Seeing this makes me smile every time!

And this made me smile, too -- Barrioboy's words about Blipfoto. I know many of us have pledged, in many cases more than once, but do think about adding a little more... it could make a big difference.

If one more smile isn't too many, do take a look at Phil's blip for for today. On this date 50 years ago I was in my first year at a small Quaker college in Indiana. What interesting paths we've taken to be together on January 3, 2016!  (For the record, we're #3 for each other... not at all what I expected my life to be like, but delighted with the best for last.)

Bllp 1446

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.