A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Walk for Wendy!

Today we had a 9 mile walk to Saltaire and back to celebrate Wendles56's (far right) first day of retirement. We had lunch at Salt's Diner in Salt's Mill, Saltaire and excellent it was too.

Four of us walked from Harden, Helen, Verity, Wendy and I and met Jean (far left) in Bingley to walk along the canal. The weather was wet and miserable all the way but it didn't really matter as the company was good.

We are all ex colleagues from the same school and, now that Wendy has joined us, we are all retired.

In the background you can see posters of David Hockney and Alan Bennett. Creative Yorkshiremen. There is lots of art work in the mill by David Hockney. If you have never visited this World Heritage site put it on your list.

Looking at my past blips yesterday's 5 years ago was of my first day of retirement and the walk that I did with Corinthian Column that day in the St Ives Estate.

Great tradition started then as I've been walking regularly ever since and I'm sure Wendy and I will be doing too.s

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.