Moment of ignition (Day 242)

At some time in the night the rain stopped. The wind eased a bit, and although it was still strong, it was easier to wander up the hill with the dogs this morning.
After the walk, I headed to town to do a little job, then collected my beautiful wife who was released early from what should have been a 24 hour shift.
We zoomed back home, then off for a wander along the shore at Stromness. We got caught in a bit of a rain shower and the wind was cold, but it was good to be out with the dogs again.
There were a few things to do when we got home before it was dark enough for me to try and get a shot for the 3 Bob challenge of "burn", set by Bob.
I had wanted to try and get some more shots of my blowtorch just as the gas ignites, so I set up the tripod in the garage and clamped the blowtorch. In the dark, I used the remote to open the camera shutter then fired the torch with the gas turned down so it would only just light then go out, and then I closed the shutter. I did this a lot. I changed the gas to a different type which burns hotter and noticed that on ignition a flash appeared through the air holes at the bottom of the burn tube. I re-set my rig and spent a while trying to get a shot of the flames coming through the air holes. This is about the best one. I have added a shot of the gas cloud igniting at the business end of the torch too, but I have blipped a similar shot previously.
Please pledge to keep this fabulous community going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.