Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Technological grumps!

Over Christmas my phone decided to start being annoying.  I wouldn't receive some texts and others I sent, despite showing on my phone as having gone to the right person, were received by others.  There's been a few other little niggles (it is 5 or 6 years old after all) so I've started to look at possible replacements.

I remember the good old days, back when phones only functions were call, text, clock, alarm and a game of snakes.  You could choose a phone based on which one you liked the look of most.  Having started life the size of a brick, phone companies battled to reduce them in size to make them truly mobile.  Now, phones are smart.  They're essentially a teeny tiny computer crammed in to a little box.  So you've firstly got the issue of complicated specifications and which will be right for what you want to do, then there's that computer issue.  You can't cram that much power in to something tiny.

I'm upgrading from a HTC Wildfire, one of the early smart phones to come on the market.  Just wider than a credit card and a fingers breadth longer.  I knew phones had got a bit bigger but I hadn't realised HOW BIG!  I can't seem to hold a modern phone in my hand comfortably and still use it with the same hand.  Even worse, you can't fit them in a pocket!  I found a website that allowed you to lifesize scale phones on your screen, this was one of the ones I was looking at.

I did some research on line, thought I'd found a phone.  Turns out it's no longer manufactured and issues with screens cracking from very little damage (my HTC has taken a proper beating, it's been dropped countless times and that nice sturdy metal bumper and gorilla glass have kept it safe).  Next phone I found had a 4 year guarantee against the screen breaking, perfect!  Only it turned out to be bigger than the phone on this shot.

So now I'm back to the drawing board.  Do I go for a small* one that is cheap so when I drop it, it's not the end of the world?  Do I go for a slightly smaller but more fragile and four times the cost one and protect the life out of it with covers etc?  Or do I go for a larger but sturdier one at mid range price?  *sigh* I keep nearly making a decision but then talking myself out of it.


*still huge compared to my old one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.