Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Simonburn

After a very lazy morning at home, I drove to Simonburn to walk. The tiny back roads of the village remain wet and covered in debris and the fields look very, very muddy.

I enjoyed using my camera in the wood (see extra). Then I walked fairly briskly along one of the lanes. Discretion became the better part of valour and I decided not to cut across a field. There was still enough light to photograph the famous lych gate of St Mungo's parish church.

In order to show the church through the arch, I could not take photograph straight on, which then presented a problem in how to show the symmetry. Like most things in life, it's a compromise!

The gate was erected in 1885, in memory of Lancelot John Hunter Allgood of Nunwick Esq. by his Kindred, Friends and Tenants. The Allgood still live at Nunwick.

Thank you for your kind words about our website. After a good night's sleep for me and the computer, all seems to be well!

Lots of competing TV tonight.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.