Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The North East Documentary Group of the RPS

I planned to set off to Durham in very good time for this afternoon's meeting, but I had a few problems with the festival website first.

The weather here was foul and water was gathering on the roads. I had to go because I was taking a projector and laptop. Thankfully the weather improved as I drove east and it was fine if dark in Durham.

We had a great meeting in the Palace Green Library. There are 3 linked  exhibitions about Antarctica with lots of photos for us to discuss. I did not think I would be interested, but I'm so glad we met there. It's good going around with fellow photographers.

Then a few of us showed images. They ranged from a project on a Food Bank and the volunteers there, to my village and to a new member's recent trip to China.

Gordon showed us photographs taken by his grandfather who served on the Majestic with Scott. His images were terrific. He was invited by Scott to go on the first Polar expedition, but, having a young family, stayed in the UK.  Gordon's father was born after this time and might never have been if his grandfather had gone with Scott.

When we came out onto Palace Green it was 4.40pm and the Golden Hour. I captured this view of the cathedral by using a high ISO then removing noise in the RAW processor.

The Walking Festival website has decided to play up. It looks different in different browsers, some with over lapping print, but on the programme I use it looks fine. I'm leaving it to tomorrow now when I might be able to work out the problem!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.