Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Design on our minds

Today was a hospital sandwich with an exhibition at the Laing Art Gallery as the filling!

I had an orthopaedic appointment to review my knees. The clinic was not too far behind time and I saw the consultant and was discharged in 3 minutes flat. My knees are not 100% but nothing more needs doing in the immediate future.

I had Mum with me because she had a Newcastle appointment this afternoon. We had time to visit The Arts and Crafts House exhibition at the Laing over lunchtime. It's fascinating and includes wallpaper, carpets, painting and embroideries from the period. We had time to see most things at a leisurely pace.

Then to the RVI where the car park was full. It's quite stressful making it to appointments. I have to go to the drop off point and hope there is a space. Then I take Mum into the foyer and find a seat. Then I return to the car and try to find a proper space. I had 30 minutes to achieve this and just made it, phew!

There was a very long wait in physio, but the good news is that Mum is making excellent progress and can now start to massage the operation site and slightly increase her finger movements. They physio said that it will take 3 months to get back to most activities and a year to full activity. (Not what a certain person wanted to hear, but at least it was realistic.)

We also became separated as I tried to help Mum onto the down escalator. I had to go down and back up to retrieve her. She had a nasty fright (as did I). We found the stairs and beat a gentler retreat!!

Today's blip? There was no photography allowed in the exhibition, but with symmetrical designs in mind, I photographed this window grill in the foyer of the Ladies' Loos at the Laing.

PS Coffees at the Laing 2/10 (weak and luke warm)
Coffees at the RVI Costa 10/10!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.