Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

2000 blips and hoping to continue

My first ever blip, (a rather uninspiring gate), was taken during a walk, so it seemed fitting that my 2000th blipday should also be on a walking day.

Today 24 Haltwhistle walkers set off from Hunstanworth, near Blanchland, and enjoyed an 8 mile hike on the moors. It was quite a climb up, followed by a good walk on the tops, then a long descent to the river and, as a sting in the tail, an ascent back to our cars.

I had 9 conscripts willing volunteers to hold up the numbers and letters. As you see, the sun is shining and it is fine. Wonderful weather. We had to avoid all the ice on the roads and tracks.

So what to say about reaching 2000 blips? In the early days, I could never imagine getting this far. Over the years, my photography skills have improved, but, more importantly, my life has been touched by the lives of so many other people around the world. My horizons have widened and I have made wonderful friendships. It's been great, even on the emergency blip days.

If Blipfoto comes to an end I will be deeply saddened, but I will always look on the 5+ years I have been involved with great affection and thankfulness.

Onwards to the next 2000!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.