Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Zoe learns to guard the border

I was keen to do the recci for next Wednesday's walk and the sun shone on the fresh snow, so Zoe and I set off for a long walk. She has not been on such a long walk with me before. At the end of 8.6 miles, guess which one of us was tired and the other fresh as a daisy?? She is a delight to be with (most of the time).

The side roads were very icy as we set off from Humshaugh through Lincoln Hill to pick up Hadrian's Wall Trail heading west. We saw one other walker in the distance during the whole day.

Here we are on the section of Wall at Black Carts.
Marj: "Did you know that you are not supposed to walk on the Wall?"
Zoe: "I'm practising guarding it"
Marj: "Wrong direction Zoe".............

I learned today that Zoe would love to chase fast moving cars or sheep but came back readily. I had her on her lead through the sheep fields.

The walk took me quite a long time, but that was partly because of the snow and partly because I tried to teach Zoe not to pull on the lead when we are on a road. I had no success, but she is getting to be very strong. Annette is going to take her in hand.

In other news, there is a cracking article in the Hexham  Courant about our Spring Walking Festival today. The photos were not provided by me. One is of Crag Lough and labelled Broomlee. One of me shows a walker with very wild hair. My mother did not recognise me!!

Ready for a comfy chair and Only Connect  tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.