Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mournful... (Yard Bird # 12)

I'll confess that mourning doves are probably my least favorite of the backyard birds - not that I dislike them, just that they aren't as engaging as so many of the regulars.  And, they are often big bullies at the feeders.  However, this year they have been scarce in the yard - this is only the third time I've seen one all winter!  This one was alone, which is unusual, and stayed only very briefly.  Long enough for me to get a few quick shots from the deck.  And, since the wild turkeys didn't show up today, this seemed like a good bet for my yard-bird challenge.

I awoke to a light snow this morning, so bundled up and rushed out to try to get some shots.  The light was dreadful and so were most of my shots.  However, as I was sitting inside warming up, a pair of blue jays came to the deck and the male proceeded to feed the female - second time I've seen them doing this in the last week or so.  Very lovely thing to witness, and I posted one shot from the series HERE on Flickr - the male is just about to place a sunflower seed in the female's beak.  

The Emma Davies A Year With My Camera second assignment came out today and I had some fun with it.  If anyone still wants to join in, it's not too late to sign up (no cost) - just go to Emma's website.  

Almost the end of the week, people.

TTFN 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.