Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nom Nom

Thought I'd take a break from yard birds today and go with a squirrel.  I haven't blipped a squirrel in ages - mostly due to the fact that they have all been staying in the woods rather than visiting our feeders.  And that is due to the massive amount of acorns laying around everywhere.  Just in the last week, two of the squirrels have ventured as far as the patio to dine on cracked corn, but they zip off at the slightest motion.  And, they've also only just discovered the dried corn cob that is hanging from this very tree.

This shot was taken after much creeping about and even more waiting.  First the creeping... as I edged ever closer to the tree...and just as I thought I was in a good position, he shrieked at me and ran high up in the tree, where he proceeded to scold me soundly.  That was when the waiting part occurred...me, crouched in the yard trying not to look threatening while the squirrel went in to Defcon 5.  Eventually, his desire for dried corn won out over any apparent threat from me, after some fancy moves to access the corn, he perched in good camera view and ate his treat.  

I did a bunch of macro shots today, working on this week's Emma Davies white-on-white exposure assignment.  It has made me realize how little I actually know!  But it's certainly kicked me out of my comfort zone which is what I wanted.  I am putting one of my experiments in Extra.   

Temps warmed up today and the little bit of snow we had earlier this week is all gone now.  Hubs and I went for a short walk - felt good to stretch my legs.  Rain moving in tonight...

Be well, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.