Morning Sky

Woke up with the headache I went to bed with.  I should have taken something for it last night.  BB had to do a last cello practice this morning, and then we had to risk life, limb and cello to slide down the road to school! It was then back home, washing on and the lure of the bright sunny day was too much for me.  Any thoughts of housework were abandoned and I went out for a walk – blue skies and sunshine have been in short supply recently.  I went round by a local farm and back along the railway path.  I had a couple of spectacular slips, but somehow managed to stay upright.  Once home I was getting changed and I thought today was the day to wear the new jumper I had bought a couple of months ago.  It has been sitting in its bag waiting for a cold day.  I got it out only to discover not one, but two holes, on the backs of the sleeves – both very odd and clearly quality control had been napping.  Thankfully I still had the receipt with it, so I plan to take it back to the shop.

My walk back down to school was less slippery as the sun was helping to thaw the ice.  After lunch my headache really kicked in again and I could have gone to bed, but BB and I had a few chores to do.  I let him practice his recorder, read his football magazine and do his second cello practice of the day, before we headed out again and while my painkillers kicked in.

January is always Scottish month at school – and this year is no exception.  BB is getting Scottish dancing at PE, he has to practice The Skye Boat Song on his recorder, he has a Burns poem to practice and today he started singing a song they have been singing at school – The Midges. I still can’t believe that he had me searching for, and then watching, Kenneth Mackellar singing The Midges on You Tube!!!  My dad always liked Kenneth Mackellar!


When we were walking to school, the sky was a real mix of colours.  I would have liked a better viewpoint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.