Outlane

One of the things on my list for this year has been trying to find the house that my Mum grew up in, before she left to join the Women's Land Army and a new life "down south".

So a trip to Outlane, immediately north of Huddersfield. And a photo or two of the property that I think may be it. In the late 1930's she knew it as the Rose Cottage bakery. Now a sign on an end of terrace says Rose Cottages. Could be the same place - I am going to show her some photo's I took to see if she thinks it looks familiar.

Then down to Milnsbrook, where she worked in a Mill. Far too congested to stop.

The blip is of two chaps enjoying flying model aeroplanes on Marsden Moor, near Outlane. The extra is of the M62, viewed from a very high level bridge which crosses it - it really does snake across the moors. The motorway now lies 150 metres at the back of the house at Outlane, not the pastoral environment my Mum will remember. 

Signs along the bridge tell people to contact the Samaritans - it is not a bridge to cross on foot if you haven't a head for heights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.