Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Fallen angel?

Winter has arrived. The temperature never climbed above freezing today and the birds in the garden were clamouring for food when I surfaced.

I did 5.5 miles of next Wednesday's walk today. My back has been sore, so I did not want to upset it and the distance was enough as I breathed in the freezing air. There was little wind and hardly another soul to meet on my route. The ground was covered in heavy hoar frost, so quite slippery. It was just great to be out.

In some fields, large areas of surface water were frozen. When I saw this section it made me think of the breastplate and the wings of an angel. This one appears to have crash landed. (Don't ask me why I thought of this!)

The extra nearly made it to my blip place. I liked the shape of the lone tree and the "path" heading towards it.

I met a forester at his farmhouse on the Wall. He had to open a stiff gate for me. We then chatted about walkers and the way a small minority spoil things by their stupid behaviour. This week the ewes will be scanned and then separated according to how many lambs they are carrying. It is then vital that they are not mixed up by someone leaving a gate open. I reassured him that Haltwhistle walkers are very responsible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.