Preston Mill

Woke up to a beautiful sky and a beautiful morning.  No diggers digging this morning thank goodness.  BB went to church with friends.  One minute he was playing on the ice in the back garden, the next minute he was gone.  He had seen them arrive to collect him, and ran off with them – no coat, no goodbye!  I must have gone out to the bin a few minute later, and he was gone!  While I assumed he had been picked up, there was still a doubt in my mind, so I texted my friend.  She confirmed she had him, and that she had asked him if I knew he was away when he got in the car, and that he had said yes.  She thought it odd that I hadn’t come out and that he didn’t have his coat, so wasn’t surprised to get my text!  He was safely delivered home later.

We went for a wee walk near East Linton this afternoon.  Smeaton Pond was frozen.  BB had great fun throwing pine cones onto the ice and seeing whether they would slide across to the other side.  We checked out the snowdrops, they have grown since we were last there, but none seem to be in flower yet.

We went to Smeaton Tea Room for hot chocolate (BB) and an enormous fruit scone (me).  We bought some seeds for the birds and when we got home I couldn’t find any of the seed feeders – only nut feeders.  I may need to text China, to find out where they are.

Cello and reading done, BB is now watching TV.

War and Peace tonight – I hope it is not quite as gruesome as last week’s episode.

Here is Preston Mill. The mill pond has been used as an access to repair the weir on the river, which has been repaired in recent months.  I think they now need to sort out the mill pond.  Is the extra a shaggy ink cap?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.