Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Would you trust this woman............

...............to lead you on a 9 mile walk? 32 people did just that today, with occasional jokes about sheep and lambs to keep me on my toes.

It was my turn to lead the Haltwhistle walkers. I chose to do my walk today because it was the Wednesday nearest to my birthday. We walked from Humshaugh in a circular that brought up gradually uphill to meet Hadrian's Wall Trail at High Teppermoor and then we returned to Humshaugh on the trail itself.

It was fine but rather grey today. We enjoyed our walk. As usual we heard many different experiences from different people. Our friend BJ was here and it was wonderful to see her before she returns to the USA next week.

Back at my house, the 10 litres of Nell's Best was soon consumed, along with sausage rolls, cakes, biscuits, scones and cheesecake. The birthday cake was a success too.

Suddenly they were gone and by 5pm we were back to being just the 4 of us (that's the cats, Mum and me). A friend with teenagers will be calling to pick up the leftover food.

It's been a brilliant day and I am lucky to have such good friends.

Thank you to everyone who contributed in one way or another to making this a success.

Especial thanks to Lesley who took today's blip for me.

We missed certain people who were enjoying the sun elsewhere!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.