Bokeh, Bokeh, Bokeh - Oi, Oi, Oi

It was another wet and miserable morning - so I stayed indoors to blip today.

I decided to have a go at producing a shot with lots of blur in the background, so I setup this little cottage model on a smoked glass reflective surface and a nicely scrunched up piece of kitchen foil in the background. It was lit with a little LED ringflash on a table top tripod, a bit of light from the patio doors to the left and overhead room lights.  It is these that give the more orange coloured highlights.

I have included a shot of the set up in extras. The beer bottles, by the way, were already empty and were used as a subject for another project (A Year With My Camera) - honest....

Because of the short distances involved I had to get a balance between the amount of house in focus and the size of the out of focus points. The more house in focus (smaller aperture) the smaller the points of light.

In hindsight the LED lamp might have been better on the right to get  more light into the corner on the left.

The rain did stop after lunch and we got out for our walk! Camera free too, which I am sure pleased Finlay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.