A Great Night Out

There have been ups and downs today. The ups more than making up for the downs!!
Just before lunch I rang Mr D to see about going to get Maisie and bring her here for the weekend so he could back to his house for a couple of days.
He was in a bit of state because Maisie was nowhere to be found.
Mum, if you're reading this it is - and always was - fine!!
I jumped in the car and headed for Bicester. Naturally I only had eight miles of fuel left so had to go to the garage and naturally every numpty in the world was out on the road. In front of me. Doing 10mph!!!
I got there eventually and re-lived unhappy childhood searches for wandering dogs. Monty used to set off roaming over the fields (now Bicester Village!!!) and would be gone for hours. Often coming home in a police car!!
Maisie is stone deaf so there was no point in calling her. It was pouring with rain and she'd been gone for an hour. Awful.
Eventually I went to the police station - as it is now seemingly impossible to call them - and was told I needed to deal with the Dog Warden. The kind policeman at the desk helped me try to find a number. Again impossible.
As he was searching the internet Mr K called to say Mr D had called and Maisie was home.
Thank God.
And it turned out Maisie hadn't actually been anywhere at all!! 
Mr D had been poop-a-scooping in the front garden and when he got back in she was gone. He couldn't find her anywhere and assumed she'd escaped. 
God knows where she'd been but wherever it was she was hidden away safely - and silently - the whole time. Bloody dog!!!!!!
Even though she hadn't been anywhere it was such a relief to have her "back". The thought of her out in the rain, lost and on her own and probably getting run over had been unbearable.
And not a conversation I particularly wanted to have with my mum when she gets back from holiday next week!!
Nanny was at our house when I got home. She's come down so Mr K and I could go down to London to see Eddie Izzard. Woohoo!!!
The tickets were my Christmas present to Mr K. I am a fan of presents which I can get some enjoyment from too!!!
The whole evening was lovely. Quick train journey down, a scrummy dinner of fat free fajitas, the buzz of the West End on a Friday night, and of course the fabulous Eddie Izzard. We had great seats in the beautiful Palace Theatre and laughed for over two and a half hours. Just brilliant!
Mr K did make me laugh too. After dinner we went into the M&M megastore (OMG!!!!) to get some peanut M&Ms but it was all a bit chaotic, not to mention expensive and we didn't have much time. 
We'll get them in the theatre he said.
When we got there the PA announced it was time to take our seats and there was to be no more queuing for the bar. We got in the back of the queue and when an usher told Mr K we couldn't be served he looked at her and pronounced "No, I simply must have some peanut M&Ms"
She let us queue!!!!
I love my husband!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.