I Wish you Bluebirds......

This is my pre-Mono Monday post, however you will have to forgive me, as it is neither monochrome, nor is it in any way related to the theme.  I have had bluebirds in my backyard for the first time EVER, and so I simply had to post an image of one of them. 

The Mono Monday theme this week is “Selfie.”  I had already decided that one “selfie” would be enough anyway, so I will tackle that tomorrow.  Be sure to tag your image mm105. (Addendum...I forgot to mention this.  If you participated in this challenge on May 5, 2014, please post a link to that selfie too.)

The blizzard ended about midnight last night and we awoke to a winter wonderland and blue skies.  The day started magically when I saw a bluebird couple at the heated birdbath.  They stayed long enough for me to get some shots and then they returned a little later, briefly and I got a couple of more shots, all of which were taken from the kitchen. 

The total accumulation was about 28 inches, but we have many snowdrifts that are greater than 3 feet deep.  The roads have not been plowed so we may not get out of here for several days. Even 4 wheel drive vehicles can’t get through.  It was quite windy all day, so much of the snow on the trees has blown off.  In spite of the wind chill of 10 degrees F (-12 C), I shoveled out a little space on the deck and sat in a chair in the sunshine taking 100’s of photos of the birds in the snow.  I will eventually get some of those up on Flickr.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.