Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Good Thing I'm Sturdy!

It's a bit breezy today. Sustained winds are 25mph/40kph with gusts at least 35/53. The sun is going a long way in keeping me warm, despite the temperature being in the mid-40s.

We had a barn-burner of a storm last night. I had no idea that there had been a 90% chance of rain predicted (I really must pay closer attention to these things). Alma had mentioned to me several days ago that it was going to dip below freezing Sunday night. So at about 7:30 I went outside to bring the hummingbird feeders indoors.

As I stepped onto the stones, I felt a couple of drops. By the time I was closing the door behind me, feeders in hand, the sky began weeping uncontrollably. I listened for hours as the rain alternately battered my windows then caressed my skylights. I held my breath at times when the wind rattled my house.

This morning, as the sun rose, the clouds were still thick. As they gradually began to part, the storm's beautiful legacy shone through in the form of snow on the Santa Rita Mountains.

I should really check a weather report to see when this wind is going to slow down. I'm sturdy, but it does sting the eyes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.