Bumpy!!

Warning: this blip report is not suitable for those with a fear of flying!

I flew off to Washington DC again late this afternoon. Storm Henry with its 90 mph gale-force winds was just hitting the UK, mostly in Scotland and the north of England, but I assume that the high winds we experienced on takeoff were a result of the same storm. I've been flying for 30 years and I have to say I don't ever remember such a bumpy takeoff. It's rare for me to be scared but I admit I was very scared as we were tossed about in the midst of those heavy clouds. I AM a praying woman but I am normally so relaxed about flying that I'm not usually conscious about praying when we take to the air - but I was definitely praying FERVENTLY as we ascended through those clouds!  Knowing that other planes had successfully taken off ahead of us reassured me that we were in no actual danger - it was just an uncomfortable ride for a couple of minutes. Sitting at the back of the plane - always the bumpiest ride - didn't help matters!

Once we saw the clouds below us we were treated with this colourful evening sky and the ride became quite smooth and everyone relaxed. I'm very thankful for our well-trained and capable pilots!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.