Staying Warm

Today I woke up in New Jersey. There was a bit of snow on the ground but it was sunny and not too cold. I headed out to get breakfast and get some fresh air while looking for something suitable for a blip. It didn't take long! This statue of 'Frank & Buddy' is near our hotel and I've blipped it before. When I saw it in the distance I thought - bingo! That will be my blip today!

The town where we stay near Newark Airport is where the Guide Dog or Seeing Eye Dog movement started in the US in 1929 (see Extra photo). A very interesting history of the worldwide movement, including the involvement of Frank & Buddy can be read here. It is quite common to see training taking place around the town, both of the dogs and the humans who are also learning.

I'm glad to see that someone is also looking out for Frank & Buddy - that they are kept warm! Apparently they had Santa hats on around Christmas time!

After breakfast I did my own walking tour around the town. The town was an important location during the Revolutionary War and are lots of beautiful LARGE historic homes to look at. I found a museum which I will visit another time and also a small forest and with some trails and a lake. It was actually warm enough to sit for awhile to enjoy the view and watch the birds. There were actually lots of things I could have blipped but I will save them for another time. It looks as if I will be doing a LOT of Newark trips in the coming weeks and months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.