De-icing

Today I headed back to work - this time with a difference. My destination was Newark, New Jersey, not San Francisco, and today I was 'deadheading' - flying as a passenger to be in position for a working assignment tomorrow.

I was fortunate that there were a few seats left in Business Class, so I got to sit in a very comfortable window seat on the left side of the plane. We took off just after 4pm and chased the sun all the way across the Atlantic. It was a beautiful 7 hour sunset with the sun just sitting on the horizon most of that time. Stunning! I took a few pictures out of the window but none of them were really blip-worthy. Even this is a bit of an emergency blip. When we pulled into our gate at Newark, an SAS plane was being de-iced right before taxiing to the runway. It wasn't terribly cold, but cold enough to necessitate it.

I remember when I was based in Denver many years ago and it seemed that we were de-iced almost constantly all winter long. Several times a week or even day. Now it's a rare occurrence; usually in the US, if at all, and rarely necessary in the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.