pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

City Hall from Upper Goat Lane, Norwich

Upper Goat Lane

Not to be confused with Lower Goat Lane. This is another thing that I like about Norwich;the weird and wonderful naming convention. Most have an explanation as to the name pinned high on the wall somewhere.

Today has been a testing day at work, and yet a nothing day. The internet fell over at around 10.30 and did not return. People in IT together with BT have been working at it, but to no avail. It has meant we can't access our pension server which I hosted on the internet. Neither can we see files which are all imaged. The wonders of a paperless office, it highlights or rather reinforces our dependence on technology. Very little work has been done.

On the up side (but not for my flexi time) I had a little longer at lunch and wandered around the antique market that lives in an old church in Pottergate. From there I wandered up Upper Goat Lane where I took this photo. I cropped out a modern car park and a few people who kept getting in my way. I'm told by my office oracle friend that the City Hall you see is 1930's, and was modelled on Stockholm City Hall.

Left just after 4 and am now on the bus. It will be my first blip from the bus, but will give me back my evening for holiday discussions with my husband...how thrilled he will be!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.