pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Quayside, Norwich

Its been a good day, topped off with a couple of 9p Morrisons bargains in my shopping tonight. But I'll rewind...

Friday has a head start in the 'which is the best day of the week' stakes, being the weekend eve. In early to a fully functioning computer system, I spent the day catching up. Mid morning a friend at work made a suggestion on somewhere I could wander at lunchtime, so I had nowhere else planned and headed down to Pigg Lane at lunchtime today. A narrow cobbled lane, fairly built up. Without doing any research, and i will have a read later, I discovered a few 'yards' in the general vicinity, mainly modernised now. I would guess the properties are quite sought after, especially these overlooking the river. I walked down Pigg Lane to the river, emerging between these buildings. I walked along to get a nice picture incorporating the river Wensum, the contrasting colours of the old buildings on Quayside, Fye Bridge and in the distance towering above it all City Hall from yesterday's blip. I get around don't I?!

I left at 4 & was home at just after 5. It was almost still light as I pulled up, but not light enough to see the chickens at the end of the garden. I made a shopping list & cooked pizzas. Mollie & Jon arrived about 5.30. Then I booked a gite in France.

Yes. I actually made a decision, booked and paid a deposit. Now I feel happier. I had sent a message earlier in the day to the owner, and he had replied. I felt happy that it was above board, so went ahead. For 2 weeks in a gite in the Loire, in August, its about half the price of the tent we used to stay in through Canvas Holidays. If it works out, I may turn my back on the camping in France. Who knows...i may even get a hotel holiday one day!

Mollie & I then went in to Cromer to do the shopping, starting in Lidl & ending in Morrisons. Just about in budget. Pleased with 6 ring doughnuts for 9p. There was so much sugar on them, we got our 9ps worth in sugar alone. I also got 6 mini ciabatta for 9p. They'll be soft after a zap in the microwave tomorrow lunchtime. Home by 9 packed away & washed up. Now my evening can start....or perhaps at 10.20 i'll just go to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.