Kissing the Blarney Stone

I lied! I did kiss the Blarney stone and will now be talking even more bollix rubbish than usual!

A great day up in Blarney. We took a leisurely route stopping off at Kilcrea Abbey (impressive 18C gravestone) then tramped across a muddy field to the even more spectacular tower house lurking untroubled in a small copse, surrounded by a natural moat. A huge, thick- walled incredibly damp building - absolutely no 'elf and safety whatsoever and I was able to go (carefully) right to the top of the battlements. Astonishing.
Next up Blarney Castle. We've never considered going before as it is incredibly touristy but in fact it's a most handsome pile, well preserved, also incredibly damp and of course it has the Blarney Stone, complete with Blarney Stone Keeper (see extra). I couldn't resist but you do have to lean an awful long way down and I reckon I was up just in the nick of time before coming over all peculiar. Kissing the Blarney stone, for those that don't know gives you the gift of the gab, or the ability to weave a somewhat elaborate story loosely based the truth and with heaps of embellishments and flattery! The grounds of the castle were beautiful and full of daffs, crocuses and snowdrops. Actually Himself has been here before. He showed me the river where he had to kneel when he took part in Spencer Tunicke's photoshoot  in Blarney. It's okay, his modesty is preserved I think!

During the evening we went off to Blarney Secondary School (both of us instantly transported back to our own schooldays - urgghhhh - those salmon pink painted brickwalls and enclosed rooms) where we treat to an excelllent illustrated talk and by Tarquin Blake, author of Abandoned Mansion of Ireland. I was most intrigued to learn that he never seeks permission to either visit the houses or publish the photos ( I asked!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.