Bankton House

Last cello practice of the week for BB (before school) – it is so hard fitting seven practices in!  Once I dropped him at school, I came home and dared to hang out my washing.  I then dusted off my running shoes and for the first time this year I put them on and went out.  I did walk up a couple of hills, and there were a couple of stops to catch my breath, but I was pleased and ran farther than I thought I would.  I may not be able to walk tomorrow though.

BB had football and hockey this afternoon.  As we were driving to football the rain came on  - but not too bad.  I walked up to Tranent and back round by Prestonpans and still had time to sit in the car and read a few pages of my book.  They finished a wee bit late, so I had to really zoom back to get him to hockey.  I went for a walk round by the river and supermarket before heading back to pick him up.  He was exhausted, but after a snack, a shower, some TV, he did his first cello practice of the new week.  An early night will be on the cards, and maybe for me too.  My pedometer is looking good today after my running and walking.  I am toying with the idea of a Fitbit.  I have received mixed reviews, so I am still thinking about it!

This is Bankton House.  We see it every day as we drive along the A1 which is just a field away behind it.  The railway runs between this side of the house and Prestonpans.  It is a late 17th-century house, and was the house of  Colonel Gardiner who died  at the Battle of Prestonpans.  I wonder if those trees were around in Colonel Gardiners time?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.