English Narcissism

Need to be very careful on the spelling here and suspect I will upset just about everyone in the world. Seemingly not Welsh, Northern Irish or Scottish but "very Englisch" as the Germans like to say.

Did anyone know there was a 1961 Anglo-German film named "The Devil Daffodil". Basically the same crew made two versions, a English and a German but only changed the leading role actors. Included people like Christopher Lee and Ingrid van Bergen in both versions.

The Blip was another of the ones used while twittering with Nogbad all day. He doubted the authenticity of them being from England unless they were from a greenhouse. I suspect he needs to do a bit more browsing on Blip such as Mollie Collies Daff Field Blip on 11th January.

It was naturally very gratifying to see my appeal yesterday for the Brits to start being proactive in Europe worked. In fact after my single handed rescue of Blip, keeping the UK in the EU I am at a loss as to what cause I should now turn my hand to. Are there any world problems out there for me to solve? Suggestions for next weeks challenge please.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now my local news - some of the backed up by a collage shown as todays Extra Photo:
First stop and tweet today was from the dentists chair. Last Saturday Angie did another roast pork. Before it was popped in the oven I made the fatal mistake of making a critical remark on the way she cut the skin with the carpet knife I had been ordered to get out of the tractor tool box. Naturally the crackling didn't work - Angie always produces feather light, crisp crackling. Well got my reward on the first bite - large piece of tooth broke. Luckily it was a tooth which had been condemned by the dentist last time. Phoned on Monday - before I could finish the sentence to the receptionist "I have broken a tooth...." she replied "top right?" !!  I wonder if my dental profile framed somewhere on the walls? There are lots of works of art in the various rooms one of them a life size concrete statue which reminded me of RedFlashs interesting London "concrete" Lion.
Doc has ordered tooth has to be pulled but by a surgeon as it's a bit close to other sensitive bits. Charming assistant did the annual clean and polish and I left armed with x-rays and letter for surgeon but luckily didn't have to leave any money. I guess when I return in a few months, I will be presented with several options for diamond studded bridges which the NHS doesn't fully cover. Couldn't really care if nothing is done, the tooth is at the back.

Walked down the High street to meet Angie who was shopping in Ottobeuren and spotted an Italo-Indian restaurant I had never seen before. At long last and unlike the only other one in Markt Rettenbach they have seating and not just take away. Indian restaurants have to offer Italian food which makes up probably 70% of the market. Indian alone probably 0.01%. Will have to give it a try one day even if the seating is somewhat spartan compared to your average UK Taj Mahal.

Back home phoned the garage to find out how jeep repair getting on. Please call back at 16:00, should know then if it will be finished!! The lunch - Angie had bought a warm snack from the butcher - Fleischpflanzerl and Krautkrapfen. Very difficult to translate, one could think it is literally "little meat plants and cabbage doughnuts". Its basically Hamburger and Sauerkraut, the sauerkraut wrapped in a yeast dough and a speciality of this area. Neither Angie or I had ever eaten one. Turned out great. Then had a real doughnut full of chocolate. Doughnuts are traditionally associated with carnival time filled with everything possible from plain jams to alcohol drenched cream- calorie bombs. Usually called Krapfen around here but very commonly "Berliner" in Germany. (In Germany the Frankfurter hot dog is called a "Wiener")

As Angie wanted to buy some special - English - horse food only available from a supplier near Mindelheim we set off and stopped off at the garage to check on the jeep. It was done - nothing more than a wheel bolt had broken and dropped in to the brake mechanism! Five new wheel bolts and taking the brake apart to take out the broken off bit and that was it. Nice to leave without leaving behind a four figure sum!
Angie took off in the jeep with the dogs to get the feed and I took her car, sneakily taking the opportunity to go to the next door Aldi for amongst other things a bottle of Grand Marnier. I'm not allowed to visit the big city and the myriad of shops like Aldi & Lidl - that's Angie's treat. Typically got a tap on the shoulder, our neighbour but I hope she doesn't tell Angie about it. Latest Aldi special offer leaflet seems to star a Land Rover.

Set off past the fields I walked the dogs on Wednesday only to see what I can only assume was an Englishman "walking" his Border Collie. Will have to try this method next time.

Quickly stopped off in Erkheim at the appropriately named and well known to Nogbad, Penny Market where I spotted the expensive English vegetables. Should taste good tonight, lightly braised or perhaps steamed?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.