Candle talk

My year in photos collection topic is "Mementoes".  I decided I'd better try to add to it today and as I haven't really got into the ISO stuff yet, I carried on playing with shutter speeds trying to capture the flickering of the candles.  Limited success on that.

As for the mementoes, well, the two wooden candles sticks were given to me this afternoon by my father-in-law who has turned them out of yew especially for me as he knows I like candlesticks.  They are his first ever attempt at candlesticks.  I feel honoured! The tall candlestick in the background is one of a pair I bought from a charity shop on the way back to the railway station in Stratford after the recent Blipmeet.  Great charity shops in Stratford! the candle holder with the orange candle was bought to go with the new decor in the front room when it was decorated not long after moving into this house. The small candle in the jar at the front is beautifully scented with rose and jasmine and I bought that to use in my auntie's funeral last week from a craft stall in the centre of Birmingham.  A special candle.  These candles all speak to me of love in different forms and they are certainly mementoes I will look back on with love...

I am going to award some Dickens challenge hearts shortly although I am aware that I am going to be woefully short of hearts.  Might try awarding them on a daily basis next week as I am having trouble woking out when I get a top up of hearts to aware.  Can anyone explain that to me?

I'll be back!

Challenge feedback - 67 entries this week - Thank you!  Hearts awarded up to five per day  but some of them have had to be virtual hearts...  Will try to do better next week...

Hearts have gone out as follows:
DOT1 - Skeena, lynnjones7186, Mishka, DollyDoug, MarieM4754
DOT2 - CaptainCustard,Jeanneb, SandyShore, Rower2012, MarieM4754
DOT3 - Moonfairy, PictureThis, Realgrumpytyke, Technophobe, KangaZu, Gloria'sJournal
DOT4 - Nettener, SandyShore, CaptainCustard
DOT5 - TMLHere and There, NorthernLass

DOT1 contributions here
DOT2 contributions here
DOT3 contributions here
DOT4 contributions here
DOT5 contributions here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.