Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Bright, sunny winter at Cawfields

We had snow overnight, although not much. The real problem was the thick black ice everywhere. I set off for the committee meeting in Haltwhistle expecting my journey to be slower that usual.

As soon as I reached Chollerford, just half a mile on my journey, I saw a huge tailback of traffic towards Wall village. The Military Road was in use and this always means that the A69 is closed due to an accident. Just hoping it was not too serious.

I followed a swaying load of haybales, piled high on the lorry in front of me, keeping a good distance between us.  I was only 7 minutes late, whereas Geoff and Ann, travelling from Hexham and Catton respecitively, had to turn back and go home.

The committee meeting was short and to the point. Was that to do with the absentees or the excellent chairing? I am too modest to suggest the latter and we had to cut a couple of items until the others are with us.

Bookings are just great, but there are free places if anyone is interested in a trip to Northumberland at the end of April. There is unlikely to be snow then.........

On my way home I stopped at Cawfields Quarry to capture a blip. The sky was bright blue and the sun was shining on the quarry pool.

Spent the afternoon resting and booking flights to Greece for my April stay on Sifnos. Needed a hotel in Athens for both legs of the journey. (Any recommendations please?)

Off to Tynedale Photo Group tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.