MsQuizzical And The Three Years

Three years of daily snapping and storytelling. So many stories, songs and sayings about three. Goldilocks And The Three Bears, The Three Little Pigs, The Three Billy Goats Gruff, Three Blind Mice, The Three Musketeers, The Three Wishes, Three Little Girls From School, Three Men In A Boat, I even found a ‘Three Raindrops‘ story to lift a particularly lacklustre image recently. There’s something special about three. I’ve discovered that there’s a rule of three in writing https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rule_of_three_(writing)  and we all know the rule of thirds in photography.  

As my third Blip birthday has been approaching I’ve been collecting ‘three‘ snippets. I love ’three dog night’ for a very cold night. 

I was watching a programme about Spitalfields Market the other night and one of the buyers who was haggling used the term ‘carpet’. Evidently this is slang for three pounds. Some say it is Cockney rhyming slang, carpet-bag for drag, which was a term for a three month sentence. Or maybe because prisoners who had been locked away for three years had carpet laid in their cell. Whatever. That’s how my handmade, silk, Turkish prayer-mat ‘carpet’ crept into my above pic. 

I’ve been reading about The Three Goddesses and have been embracing my inner Crone and of course, if one is religious or a chef, there’s The Holy Trinity.

Mustn’t forget the beautiful bottoms of The Three Graces, The Three Dancers’ less so in my eyes. 

I asked MrQ for his contribution. The Three Stooges and a song from the thirties, Three Little Words - I love you, naturally.

Thank you for looking at my pics and reading my ramblings. I've enjoyed and learnt lots from reciprocating. :)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.