A pair of cranes by the River Severn

I spotted the weather would be fair today, and when I saw the blue sky early this morning I knew I'd have to go down to the river. I have been hobbling about with a sore achilles tendon for many weeks, an injury I self inflicted when playing frisbee in the surf at Mirissa.  I finally received some physio yesterday but I fear there is a long way to go. But at least I can drive even if walking is very hard.

So I decided that a trip to Epney on the north bank of the river Severn a few miles south of Gloucester would work out well.  I knew I could park right beside the river with good views up and downstream of a wide tidal stretch with views across to the Forest of Dean in the west. Clouds were beginning to well up in the distance but were only small and puffy over the river when I arrived at lunchtime.

I started to shoot some reflections of the clouds on the river, as there was little obvious bird life.  I was very happy as the still air wasn't cold and the sound of distant gulls and crows was all that could disturb me. A woman cycled along the river bank and said hello as did a man running energetically. An occasional car would pass but I was happy with being in such a lovely spot in the countryside.  I reflected on my recent travels to Sri Lanka and the wondrous places I visited and enjoyed, but our country can pleased me just as much.  It is the weather that makes me feel at ease, so when the sun shines and there are blue skies I am content.

As I tried varying the reflective images I heard a shout from behind and looked around to see a middle aged man pointing up at the sky and telling me 'Look - there are the cranes!'. I realised he was tipping me off to grab a picture of them and I immediately swung around and spotted two cranes flying towards us from the far side of the river.  I adjusted my camera settings as quickly as possible and grabbed a few pictures.

The man drove a little further along the road and parked and got out to stand beside the flood prevention wall. I thought the birds would fly straight on but they seemed to bank and turn in a wide circle which gave me the chance to change my lens to a longer zoom. Both of the cranes were calling very loudly which was delightful to hear but they separated in mid-air so I couldn't shoot them both together. Soon they turned back to their original direction and headed south going towards Slimbridge presumably, where a crane colony has become well established at the Wildlife and Wetland Centre and where their young are now being reared in the wild.

What a treat it all was.  After they'd gone I called out to thank the man, and he shouted back that he had seen them two days ago and had been looking out for them.  I felt so lucky that I happened to be standing at the one spot where they had decided to fly across the river.  Two years ago I had been half a mile upstream when four cranes had flown over me, so I wasn't wholly surprised.  But any sight of them in flight is a wonderful thing to behold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.