Barbara Stroudland

An important consultation was run this morning in and concerning the Stroud Subscription Rooms. Built by the community, currently owned by Stroud District Council, it is the largest public venue for many events in the area. Now the need for budget cuts means that District Council is examining its future. One option is to sell it, despite it having been built using money from public subscription. Another option is to find a community group that can take on the current roles it fulfils. the third and least likely possibility is its purchase by Stroud Town Council as a community asset. This meeting was just the beginning of sounding out public views to inform the District Council's decision in due course.

Afterwards I had a coffee and chat with Camilla, who has just returned from India, before heading back to the car up the High Street. Near the top I had to take a picture of Barbara Stroudland standing in the middle of the road. As I lined up the camera, a woman came up behind me and asked 'Do you like Barbara Stroudland? My husband made it for the shop'. Then she disappeared into the 'Art Gallery'. I think I do like her. Her t-shirt reads 'The people's republic of Stroud'. Perhaps she should have left a comment at the Sub Rooms too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.