Ricardos tomatoes

Well finally, after 13 years of driving up and down the Pacific Highway we visited one of the most amazing Tomato Plantations in Australia.  I can hear myself saying it every time we past the sign on the highway - "Ricardo's Tomatoes" - "you know Catherine, we really should call in there one day".

Well just recently when we were in Urunga on our way north this trip, we saw a sign outside the local supermarket "We sell Ricardo's Tomatoes".  What a great opportunity to try these luscious looking tomatoes.  Well let me tell you, they were absolutely amazing.  We couldn't believe it, they really tasted like a tomato :-)  Now Gitama can vouch for this because we dropped a bag off to her when we called in for that famous cuppa on the way north.

We called in to Ricardo's for lunch today and we were blown away by what we saw.  The image is taken inside one of the huge hot houses and these glorious little numbers were just dripping off the vines.  

I was lucky enough to meet one of the owners, Carol who gave me a great insight into the history of their venture.  Carol very willingly took me through the complex and was happy for me to take some images.  I of course sprouted on about being a "blipper".....as you do.  Carol very gently dropped the information in that she did in fact teach photography!!  I really hope she likes this image.

We will certainly be making this a compulsory stopover in future so we can arm ourselves with bucket loads of these amazing tomatoes.

Stop the Presses:
Such great, great news from Blip Central.  Finally it's done and dusted and blippers own blipfoto!!  Woohoo, I'm so excited and in case this Blip Central Posting slipped under your radar like mine, just click on the link to read the fantastic news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.