Mono Monday : Ancestors

What a fab topic for Mono Monday. 

On the one hand I've done nothing today that didn't involve a set of combination ladders and a paint brush! There's been no opportunity to consider photography and now I don't actually have to take a photograph!

On the other hand I love the topic for itself. Ancestor connections are a key part of modern (and indeed ancient) Druidry and having just come back from The Druid Network's AGM it feels most appropriate to do this today.

I love this photograph of my dad with his new bike. He must have been so proud. I can't verify when it was taken exactly, but he was born in 1934 so I reckon just after the war. He was a Suffolk lad, and sadly I didn't really know him as he died when I was approaching my sixth birthday.

I have a large genealogy database for my family name ROSHER which goes back to the 1600's. Some evidence and a lot of supposition suggests that before that we came over as Huguenot refugees escaping France - a poignant thought in these days of immigrant argument...

I'm going to stick two extras in, because the studio photo of my dad with grandad's bowling ball is so fab, and the artificially coloured photo of my own maternal grandfather and grandmother reminds me of their love. Granddad took, processed and coloured this photo himself. Hail ancestors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.