Grandma & Granddad :)

I wasn't going to blip a scanned photo for this week's MM challenge - Ancestors but I was looking through my photos for a photo of Amelia dressed as Angelina Ballerina (long story - and found it hurrah!) and came across these much loved photos of my maternal Grandparents.  I love how the photographer has taken/processed the photos, the soft focus, light, tones and vignette. (They are two separate photos)
They were both born in 1900, and I loved that because I could always easily work out how old they were!  They are both 21 here.  Granddad was a train driver and Grandma was in service at a big house near Lancaster.  They had 6 children together in total, 2 sons lost in WW2 aged 18 and 21 and a 5 year old daughter lost to diphtheria.  They went on to have 3 more children, my uncle, my aunt and my mum who was the youngest... my Grandma was nearly 42 when she had her. 
I love that I shared a birthday with my Granddad... that always felt special but he died when I was quite young so my memories of him are faint.  His eyes however are a huge family characteristic... which my Mum inherited, my brother, and my nephew.... 
My Grandma was a huge unconditional love in my life.... her garden is one of the reasons why I love lupins:)
Bless their souls xx
And thank you MrsLinda for hosting mono monday... I'm loving sharing memories :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.