Ice Houses on the Lake

Dear Diary,

Ice fishing is  favorite pastime here in Northern New England but, frankly, I've never seen the appeal of sitting on a bucket in frigid temperatures waiting for a nibble.  I do admit, however, that I am smitten by the little "Bob Houses" that dot the lakes this time of year.

Ice fishermen had a late start to the season this year and recent warm spells and rain threaten to end it prematurely.  These fisherman have equipped their houses with skis so they can easily pull them off.  The green one also has a stove for warmth.  Ice fishing is mainly a social event and there are fishing derbies held each winter.

Learning to celebrate the seasons, even long cold ones, is very important.  I've always said that the primary reason I love to live in New England is the seasons.  Each makes you appreciate the next.  When the first warm days of spring come you greet it with such joy especially if you've had a particularly tough winter.  We haven't had a bad winter this year, compared to last year, but I will still feel such joy when I am finally able to bring the rocker up to the front porch and sit in the sun even if there is still a pile of snow in the backyard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.