FROST AND SHADOWS - MMC16

I was up quite early this morning, for me anyway, and decided as it was a frosty morning that I would have a shower and then go out into the garden to see what I could find for a blip - in my pink robe and slippers, of course!

As I wandered round, there were plenty of opportunities with beautiful patterns on leaves, metal and wood.  I liked this one because of the starkness and the shadows, so after looking at the fifty or so photographs I took, I decided on this.  It is a little rosebud just forming on our climbing rose and it stands out well in mono.

A lot of people doing this challenge have told me they take the photograph in colour and then convert it to black and white, but I have been taking all my photographs in black and white, which makes me look at the form and texture much more.  

I also liked the one of the top of our chiminea - which is in my extras, but this rosebud was definitely my favourite.

When I looked at the photograph again about half an hour later, I thought maybe I could get a better shot, so went back out into the garden - however, in that short time, the sun had melted the frost, so there was nothing outstanding about it - in fact, it looked quite ordinary.

It made me think that we all need to "seize" the day or the hour or the minute and not wait until we think things might be better, otherwise we might miss something wonderful. 

“Your life isn't behind you; 
your memories are behind you. 
Your life is ALWAYS ahead of you. 
Today is a new day - 
 SEIZE IT!” 
Steve Maraboli


P.S.  I bought a bag of chocolate yesterday and did find Stuart in the tunnel - I gave him several bars and also a couple of books I had managed to find for him.  I also gave out all the other bars of chocolate - and got quite a few strange looks - but it was Chocolate Tuesday and no-one refused!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.