pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

St Peter Mancroft, Norwich

If you have ever visited Norwich city centre, you will have seen St Peter Mancroft. It is the largest of the 32 medieval churches within the city walls. Located adjacent to the market, in front of The Forum, and beside Next on the other side, it towers over everything, yet fits perfectly in it's allocated place.

An interesting fact I gleaned from the board outside, is that the first recorded true peal of bells in the world, was rung at St Peter Mancroft on 2nd May 1715.

This photo is the Gothic eight bay nave. A big feature along with it's magnificent roof and a very old font dating to 1463.

I managed a bit of shopping at lunchtime before I went into the church. It was silent, with one person I could see, sitting in the peace. I stood perhaps for 5 minutes in thought, just enjoying the silence. Then went back to the office. I like going in churches, they are always welcoming, regardless of your faith or whether you have a faith. So when a sign says 'open' I often go in. This one is beautiful inside, so I recommend a visit.

Work was busy, but I left a little after 4. Lovely driving into and out of work in the daylight. Home by 5.15 and found my 3 hens have laid 3 eggs again today. Hooray! I expect it's because I've been treating them to a bit of corn.

Looking forward to the bake off for sport relief, again today....after I've sorted out an overnight bag to take with me tomorrow, and a shopping list to do my shopping on the way home Saturday. Then if there's time, I may have another think about that part made bag!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.