pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Memories of old

I arrived at my mum & dad's house in Hoddesdon at just before 7 this evening having left the office on the dot of 4. Not a bad run, and two thirds of it in the day light!

I have spent the evening going through a box of lovely old photographs, which once belonged to 'Cousin Hilda' now departed cousin of my dad's dad. This one we all took a shine to. Someone's wedding in 1928. It doesn't even matter whose wedding it was, it has such character. Hilda is the glamorous 18 year old on the back right wearing the fur stole. It is a lovely clear picture which I would like to copy & frame. Why don't we wear those lovely clothes these days? I think it is time pretty lace dresses & those cover your face almost hats, were brought back into fashion.

The rest of my day, and that of the other two in the office from my team, was spent fielding phone calls. From pensioners, average age 90. I think I was very patient with the old dears who have today received an extra mailing with their payslips. It was certainly a busy day, but I did little of what I'd planned to do. Oh well, there is always next week.

Tomorrow a day in Harlow giving Uncle David a really good send off. My blip may be late, and will definitely be tear stained.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.