pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A Long Day

I can sit down now, with a glass of wine, and a big sigh of relief after an emotional, draining day. A lovely day. For lots of reasons.

I don't get to Hoddesdon very often these days, but Hoddesdon will always be home. Staying at mum & dads, the childhood home I grew up in, things have changed so much. But the bones of the house are the same, memories still fill every corner & I am sure I could still find my way around in a power cut, but it smells different and feels different. Anyway, i slept well (in what used to be Manda's room!)

At 10, I drove mum & dad over to pick up Manda & then on to Church Langley, where we joined Uncle David's closest family - my aunt, cousins & their children, to await the hearse.

Taking the drive to the crematorium I can't quite describe the many emotions going through me, seated in the back of the big black limousine, following the hearse closely. It was serene, surreal, tearful, calm. It was a privilege to share his last journey, with my closest family. Every day I see something in people closest, that I have not witnessed before. Every day, I am thankful to be part of this family.

At the crematorium we were greeted by a large welcoming group of David's friends and extended family. How loved David was. Is. How lovely to have made such a big impression during your lifetime.

The service was a celebration of the life of a funny, popular, loving man, who lived life to the full, leaving happy memories for all of us to remember him by. I have many & the picture in my mind is of a big smiling face, telling me how beautiful I am. That has to be a happy memory. My mum paid a touching tribute to her baby brother. The many tears we all shed, were happy and sad. Mum did him proud with that tribute, as did his son, daughter and wife with a finely executed funeral.

The afternoon was spent at Louise's house, with the many well-wishers.

The flowers are a symbol of a beautiful life, and were made today with very special love. My Aunty Sue has been a very talented florist all her life. This beautiful arrangement adorned David's coffin and what better way to show her undying love.

I had full admiration for my family today. You did him proud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.