Looking to Great Barrier

Another weekend at the beach house, where the final stages of building are taking place. A fence, with planter boxes, and also a tool shed. Although I've not ever been someone who has needed a shed. it will be good to have one, as when I reduce my working hours I have some things I want to do with some of the wood I have rescued from renovations over 30 years or more in different places.

Woke this morning rather later than my weekday usual, and the sun was already above the horizon and into the low clouds. Just a couple of minutes up the road and at the top of the hill in Highfield Garden Reserve, I had this outlook. In the far distance, beyond the end of Kawau Island to the right, is the long and seemingly low grey bulk of Great Barrier Island.

I really like the way that the light on the water picks up and shows the channels and variations in the waters of the Bay. It was an almost windless morning, and the temperature much above last weekend, so that I didn't need all the winter running stuff (still had it on as I hadn't thought about it!).

This afternoon I have sat with my iPad and looked at some of the journals I've been missing in the last week, through a combination of being busy, and being tired when not busy. I apologise to all of you whose journals I usually visit, and I hope to catch up with visits and comments over the next few days in between the reports and letters.

Do take a look at this large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.